For the love of indigo

image

 

I bought this natural indigo dye kit from dtcrafts.co.uk as I have always wanted to have a go at natural indigo dyeing

image

I am so pleased with the results and managed to save my favourite t shirt too

image

Starting to heat the dye very gently in my old pressure cooker but now a vat pan. Its amazing how the colours turn from green to blue..after several dips you get the effect you want.  I wanted the old cotton sheets to be quite white so very pleased at the patterns that turned out. I had to dry them inside though as if I had waited for a sunny day..I would have been waiting ages as all its doing is raining all the time here!!

Happy Tea Tuesday

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “For the love of indigo

  1. Glad you’re having fun with the indigo dye! Great results, too. We have had endless rain and storms for weeks, today was the first day with no rain – but don’t worry, it’s coming back tomorrow! Happy T Day, hugs, Valerie

  2. Wow! I have never dyed anything in my life! But i hope to try some tie dye one day! Looks like everything turned out lovely! Big Hugs! Deb

  3. I can relate to the rain, but there are hours when the sun comes out and everything gets muggy and sticky. I have always wanted to try indigo dyeing, but have never had the chance to try, since I can’t get the indigo here (just on the internet). It looks like you managed to create some incredible pieces, and I can see why you would like that favorite tee, too.

    Thanks for sharing this process and your tea with us for T this Tuesday.

  4. fantastic results! that is on my to-do list for Ages. Indigo simply is the best Color!
    happy belated t-day and rest of the week!

hello, I love comments and will visit your blog too

