Creative hygge

o

A busy last couple of days creatively as the weather gets very cold with freezing cold rain. I bought this lovely owl jersey material and am very pleased as have made a dress out of it.  The secret is to use a knit foot and a double needle.  I have also been winding more wool for the poncho I am knitting…this always reminds me of when I was younger and I used to help my mum winding her wool.  Yesterday I made a hot pot trivet using pegs..its under the cup in the picture

I made lost of cards at the weekend to sell at chapel..check out the presents challenge at Seize the Birthday.  I am trying to use up papers I have had for ages.

I received an email off The Simple Things with a download all about hygge..intrigued I decided to buy the book and I love it.  As you can see my sons have been helping me make lots of comforting cakes and I made some soup and bread yesterday just watching a candle while it was stormy outside.  Love the concept of hygge…a slowing down, meditative, comforting for the self process.

Happy Tea Tuesday

 

11 thoughts on “Creative hygge

  1. What a cute dress. Love your trivet!! Wonderful cards too and oh my-those delicious looking foods… I have heard of this book-a blogging friend in England mentioned it and also loves it. May have to check it out. Happy T day and thanks for sharing so many wonderful crafty things!

  2. The dress looks wonderful. I have enjoyed reading your post and seeing those delicious cakes you have been making.
    Happy T day
    Yvonne xx

  3. I love the dress! Well done you! And the peg trivet is fun.
    I love hygge. It is a Danish concept and I didn’t know about it until we had Danish friends and also visited to Denmark. It is a great invention. Every country should have it. Looks like your sons have gotten into the spirit. How wonderful.
    Happy T-Day,
    Hugs,
    Lisca

  4. Wow, you have been busy! I love your new dress, the owl jersey material is wonderful :-). The cards are lovely and the peg trivet is a great idea. As for your baking, they all looks so delicious especially the cakes – yum! Glad you are enjoying your new book, it sounds like it focuses on friends, family, contemplation and things that bring happiness and light into your life – wonderful :-). Wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

  5. Wow Lorraine, I may be late, but I simply adore that fabric and your lovely new dress. I couldn’t sew a dress if I had to. You are a wonderful seamstress.

    Your cards are stunning. I’m not much of a card maker, so I would buy yours. They are lovely. I also adore your beautiful new trivet. I like the design.

    I had NO idea what hygge was, so had to look it up. Very clever idea that will help people have a comfy home in the long winter months. Your baked goods really focus on that.

    Thanks for sharing your lovely new dress, your adorable trivet, greeting cards, your yummy baked goods, and your drink with us for T this Tuesday.

  6. Lots of great things in this post – but let me comment on the one thing I am supposed to – fantastic cards! I love how you’ve used the papers, with little pictures and then the ribbons peeping from behind – superb design and execution! Thank you so much for joining us at Seize the Birthday!!
    – Ashini
    Seize the Birthday DT
    (PS – And just cuz I couldn’t resist – I didn’t know about the concept of hygge, so thanks for writing about – seems something so comfortable and cosy! Love what you’ve created too!)

hello, I love comments and will visit your blog too

